Politics: APC leaders set up panel to probe Kogi gov

Kindly Spread the love by Sharing

Sunday Aborisade, Abuja (Source Punchng News)

Members of the All Progressives Congress in the National Assembly from Kogi State, House of Assembly members, executive of the party in the state and prominent party leaders from the state, held a crucial meeting in Abuja on Monday and accused Governor Yahaya Bello of engaging in anti-party activities.

They therefore set-up an 11 member Disciplinary Committee headed by Senator Dino Melaye, to review the various allegations leveled against the governor, and report back within seven days.The APC elected officers and party executive at the end of their meeting that lasted three hours, accused the governor, among others, of appointing card-carrying members of the Peoples Democratic Party in the state as commissioners, special advisers, and councils’ caretaker committee members.

According to the resolution of the meeting, which was also attended by the APC Chairman in the state, Alhaji Haddy Ametuo, and read to journalists by Melaye after the meeting, Bello allegedly made all the appointments without carrying the party along.

For instance, the Kogi APC leaders said, “Out of the 15 Commissioners he (Bello) appointed, PDP has 13 card-carrying members while APC has two. Out of the 105 members of the Caretaker Committee members for the 21 Local Government Councils, PDP has 72 while APC has 33.”

They also said, “Out of the 28 people he appointed as Special Advisers and Senior Special Assistants, PDP has 24, APC has one, APGA has one, Labour has one, Accord has one.”

The party said it acted based on the Article 12 (8) of the APC constitution, to convey the meeting and agreed to set up the committee made up of members from the three senatorial districts of the state to invite the governor, for necessary questioning.

They said their action became imperative following an alleged decision of the governor to rebuff all attempts to hold a meeting with the State Working Committee of the party since he was sworn-in as governor.

They also threatened necessary disciplinary actions against the governor in accordance with the party constitution, in case he chooses to disregard the party resolution.

Part of the resolution reads, “After much deliberations, the House noted that Governor Yahaya Bello, has substantially, breached the provision of Article 21of the constitution of the APC.

“The House, therefore resolved to constitute a disciplinary committee of 11 members to invite Governor Yahaya Bello and give him the desired fair hearing”

Members of the disciplinary committees are, Senator Dino Melaye ( Chairman), Hon. S.T.Adejoh (Secretary), Senator Mohammed Ohiare, Senator Abubakar Abdulrahman, Senator Nicholas Ugbane, and Alhaji Haddy Ametuo, the APC Chairman in Kogi State.

Others are, Hon.Buba Jibril, Hajia Hajara Aliyu, Hon. Folasade Joseph, and Hon. Suleiman Ali.

About Inside Eflex9ja 5718 Articles
Bozz Eflex NG is a student of the Taraba State University. He's a unique user of the pen when it comes to the expression of whatever is entertaining and educative. A young man full of optimism & amusement and a passionate advocate of prayer, hard work & persistence as a formula for success. He is the Site Developer-in-chief of the organization and also a writer of news, articles, editorials and a lot more to help expand the level of knowledge of the readers and simultaneously have them entertained. A lover of music and football is who he is and a Software Developer.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.